Broken Resistor

Hello all,

I was finally putting together my makerbuino yesterday and broke one of my resistors. The 4.7k ohm resistor to be exact. I was looking in to buying another to replace the broken one on amazon, but am a bit confused as to what I’m looking for. I am new to this scene so I don’t know if I’m supposed to be buying a “tolerance 1%” or “tolerance 5%”.

According to the calculators I’ve found on this site the 4.7k ohm resistor (yellow, violet, red, gold) measures at a +/- 5%. Will it matter if I buy a 1%?

Any help would be very much appreciated!!!

You can buy a 1% tolerance resistor aswell :slight_smile:
You want a resistance value of 4,7kOhm = 4700 Ohm.

If you buy a resistor with 5% tolerance you’ll get a resistor with a resistance value between 4465 Ohm and 4935 Ohm.

If you buy a resistor with 1% tolerance you’ll get a resistor with a resistance value between 4653 Ohm and 4747 Ohm.

So you are much closer to your needed resistance value :slightly_smiling_face:

Resistors come in Standard Values with different tolerances. This allows for a degree of overlapping of values without having to manufacture a vast range of values.

But if you require a more precise value of resistance, say for a Timing Circuit, then a better Tolerance Value (1%) would be preferred.

Although Resistors are a cheap passive component, when buying 1000’s at a time, cost might be more of an issue.Therfore if your circuit will function well enough then a a not so good Tolerance Value (5 or 10%) would tend to be a cheaper option.