Need Help With Arduino Programming

I am new to Arduino programming, but have done a bunch of pre–programmed UNO projects, and can understand the simple C/C++ Arduino programs. Pretty good for an 80 year old right? I have the Ringo by CircuitMess board installed in the Arduino IDE, and version 1.0.2 of the library installed (although I really don’t know how to use the library function).

In order to learn, I would like to have an example of an Arduino sketch that shows how to run a simple program (just a text message) as a Ringo App that works like the existing games on the phone. I want to return the Ringo to its own firmware (maybe by pushing button B) when exiting the App. I am really good at bricking the phone, and re-loading the firmware but tired of doing it.

Any help is really appreciated.

Kent

kfixman, here’s an Arduino example I wrote that just about exercises all the things you’re trying to learn: PI

Hint
 if you want to try before you buy (i.e.: before you get into compiling it from source), just put the .bin file from the last post of that topic, and Robert’s icon from the zip file in the 4th post in that topic into a new application directory on the SD card named PI.

Thank You Frank. I was hoping that you would reply. I was able to create a new application directory on the SD card with my own made up icon .bmp file and borrowed a .bin file from one of the existing games just to see if it worked - it did, but that is as far as I got.
I will study your PI example - really appreciate it.

Hey Kent,

Here, under the ‘Examples’ you can find many simple programs that allow you to check out how functions work.

I do recommend using CircuitBlocks however since it’s much more user-friendly especially for beginners and offers you pretty much everything that is available in our library.

We’re going to release a new version soon which is going to feature a whole lot of new things and will allow you to use it both as a block and as a code builder! :smiley: