Totally messed up the regulator :(

This is my first time ever soldering and doing this type of work, so I donā€™t know if this next statement is true or not, but I think Iā€™ve gone beyond the point of return on my current kit :frowning:

I put the regulator in the wrong way because my board is arranged differently than the tutorial. The regulator in the tutorial is placed well away from the 12c port. My regulator slots seemed to be too close to the 12c port, so I thought maybe Iā€™m suppose to spin the regulator around on my board to fit it in. After seeing some completed projects Iā€™ve realized that I should have put it in the correct way and the bent the piece down a little bit to fit it into the space.

So I attempted to undo my mistake by trying to remove the solder without the suction tool or copper wickā€¦ Iā€™ve made a pretty big mess. The solder wonā€™t even melt anymore. Iā€™m definitely going to need a new regulatorā€¦ Do I have to buy another kit in order to retry? Iā€™m not sure if this is salvageable, but it was fun while it lasted :confused:

The board looks to be OK, just get your iron nice and hot and remove the excess solder.

Did you cut the regulator off the board? If so, if it still has long enough ā€˜legsā€™, it should still be OK to use if not damaged. Otherwise, visit your local electronics shop or online, this component is very cheap to replace just make sure you get the same one.

1 Like

Someone should fix that guide ā€¦ Iā€™m not going to start anything until I get a proper updated guide :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Ya, I put the regulator in really close to the board because I didnā€™t know that space was for bending the regulator into. So I had to cut it off.

I was curious about the board being broken because the solder isnā€™t melting anymore :frowning: I think Iā€™ve over worked it and now I canā€™t get it out!