Connecting makerbuino to computer?

Hi, I’m new to makerbuino (just finished mine) and I am wondering how to connect mine to my computer. I plugged the red UART board into my makerbuino and I have it connected to a usb into my computer. The red light goes on in the board but nothing shows up on my computer. Is there something I’m doing wrong? I have a mac if that makes a difference.

I don’t own a MAC but i’ll try to help anyway :slightly_smiling_face:
Is there a new COM-Port visible? Your MAC should have installed a driver for the FTDI RS323-to-USB converter.
You should be able to select a COM-Port within the Arduino IDE.

sorry i don’t know what a COM port is but nothing shows up on my makerbuino screen or computer screen. is there something i need to download? @Bl4ckM4ch1n3

Your MAKERbuino can’t show you if it’s connected to your MAC or not.

There should be a program on your MAC called “System Information”. It’s similar to the Device Manager from Windows. Connect the UART board again and open the System Information software. Your MAC should scan everything that is connected to it.

Within the System Information software there should appear something called COM1, COM-Port or similar. But i don’t know if you’ll find it within the USB-Devices list or somewhere else. Maybe you’ll need to search a little bit. If you can’t find anything you’ll need to install the drivers manually. But let’s try the System Information thing first and let me know if you’ve found something.

Rather than digging through the system information, the most new-user friendly way of seeing if it’s working correctly is to plug it in and see if the Arduino IDE recognises it.

You’ll need to visit the Arduino website found here and install the IDE for your operating system(Mac OS X in your case).