Only backlight on my screen - step 12 ok, step 23 just backlight

Hi all,
yesterday I received my second Makerbuino (I took the first one during last MakerFaire in Rome) and started asap to assemble it.

I arrived successfully to step 12: turning on Makerbuino, the screen showed my a message telling me to adjust the contrast, like the one published at step 23 (https://makerbuino.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/DSC05743_800x533.png). Of course, I couldn’t d oanything since still I hadn’t soldered the push button and all the other components of chapter #4.

Then, I continued with steps in chapter #4 but, at the end (step 23) only backlights work on the screen: no message, no text, no sound.

I tried with hard reset (turning off device, inserting sd card, pushing C button, turning device on again, releasing C button and waiting for more than 30 seconds). I also tried hard reset twice times in sequence.
The LiPo battery is charged.

It’s quite frustrating.

I’m not an expert in soldering but it doesn’t look as a too bad work.
Here is some shots of my work.

Can someone give me some help or suggestion?

Thanks a lot.

R.

Hello,
I think is lacks a solder on the SDcard, the 4 from the right. No?

1 Like

@kukulo, @f4egx is right, you forgot to solder one SD card data pin.

Also, please note that you need to have the SD card inserted in the device while doing a hard reset in order for hard reset to work.

Keep us posted!

@albertgajsak, @f4egx, you were right, I forgot to solder that SD card data pin.

As soon as I soldered it, it worked!!
I successfully tested all the buttons, both potentiometers and sounds. Finally, exiting the setup page, I got the game screen :slight_smile:
Then I just tried to browse across the different pages, looking at all the game icons before finishing touches (chapter #5).

But, again, after finishing to assemble also the case, my Makerbuino shows again only backlights :frowning: .