Step 12 ->it doesn't work [SOLVED]

I checked my soldering twice but found no error.
Is there a easy way to check whether I got an ATmega328 without firmware (I’m a newbie and have no arduino board or AVR progammer).

@Nischwan, thank you for supporting our project.

I am sorry that you’re having problems with your build.
As reported on the forum, there are a few kits that were sent with blank ATmegas due to our manufacturing error (about 30 kits to be more exact).
We will send you a new microcontroller ASAP if you’re among those 30 unlucky ones.

Your soldering looks damn fine (well done man, you don’t seem like a newbie to me).
Do this:

1. check whether the 3.3V regulator and the 2N2222 transistor are in the right places.
    (Step 8, chapter 3 in the build guide): http://makerbuino.com/build-3/
  2. A) -solder the 6 pin female header (step 14, chapter 4) http://makerbuino.com/build-4/
    -connect the MAKERbuino to your computer using the USB-TLL board
    -install Arduino IDE
    -select the right COM port and “Arduino UNO” as the board you’re using
    -try uploading a simple blink program to your MAKERbuino
    -if the upload succeeds, there is a bootloader in your microcontroller (it’s not blank), if it fails - your microcontroller is blank
    -this video might help you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vawhrr4COjI (note that they’re using Arduino Pro mini boards in the video and the MAKERbuino is programmed as an Arduino UNO board)
    B) If you cannot figure step 2A and don’t know what I’m talking about, we’ll just send you a new mirocontroller

Don’t give up!

1 Like

I don’t have anything relevant to add but I’ve got to agree with @albertgajsak, for a newbie you’ve done some of the neatest soldering I’ve seen on these forums.

2 Likes

First thx a lot for your fast and helpful responses.

1. I’ve checked the regulator / transistor more than twice.

2. I installed the ardino IDE
    COM9_1
    COM9_2